Monday Evening Schweinitz
February 17th , 2014 | 8PM | @ Zipper Hall
200 S Grand Ave | Los Angeles, CA 90012 | $27 / $20
Marc Sabat / Wolfgang von Schweinitz - Johann Sebastian Bach RICERCAR Musikalisches Opfer 1 INTONATION (2001/2011) (version for string trio)
Andrew Nathaniel McIntosh - Two Small Quartets
Arnold Schoenberg - String Trio, Op. 45
Wolfgang von Schweinitz - Plainsound String Trio "KLANG auf Schön Berg La Monte Young" op. 39
Andrew Tholl - violin
Mark Menzies - violin/viola
Andrew McIntosh - violin/viola
Ashley Walters - cello

Arnold Schoenberg and La Monte Young – two of the major peaks in 20th century musical history. They are fused together in Wolfgang von Schweinitz’s fascinating Plainsound String Trio “KLANG auf Schön Berg La Monte Young”. Based on harmonies from Schoenberg’s textbook “Structural Functions of Harmony”, this deeply spiritual exploration of sound will be heard after Schoenberg’s landmark string trio and an arrangement by von Schweinitz of the three voice Ricercare from Bach’s Musical Offering in an experimental tuning.